2019 AC Scholarship Information

2019 MiALA Annual Conference Grants


The Michigan Academic Library Association will award grants to attend the MiALA Annual Conference. 

The purpose of the MiALA Annual Conference grants are to support a current MiALA member's attendance at the Annual Conference.

The MiALA Annual Conference grant will cover the cost of full conference registration (not including any post-conference workshops), two night's hotel stay (room and tax only) at a hotel at which the conference has a room block reserved, and a $50 travel allowance that can be used for meals and/or other travel expenses. Up to seven scholarships will be awarded. The grantee and/or grantee's institution will be expected to cover any remaining conference or travel costs.

All grants are non-transferable. If a member is selected and cannot attend, an alternate will be selected from among eligible entries. Grants/prizes/awards obtained from other MiALA programs that cover conference registration fees may not be used in conjunction with the MiALA Annual Conference grants and are non-transferable.


To apply for a MiALA Annual Conference grant, an individual must meet the following criteria:
  • Be a current individual/student/retiree member of MiALA in good standing;
  • MiALA annual dues must be current and paid; and
  • Must be a member of MiALA for a minimum of six months.

Important Notes 

Current MiALA Board of Directors and Conference Planning Committee members are NOT eligible to apply.
Past grant recipients may not apply for another MiALA Annual Conference grant for five years.

Selection Committee 

The grant selection committee shall consists of members of the MiALA Board of Directors and Conference Planning committee. The committee will moderate the selection process and utilize the selection criteria below to identify seven grant recipients for each grant and two alternates.  The decisions are final and there is no appeal process.


Evaluation Rubric 

The selection committee will factor in the following criteria as a guide in making their selections:
  • Applicants that are new to library employment/library school;
  • First time attendees to the annual conference;
  • Have financial hardship due to budgetary restrictions at applicants' institutions;
  • Volunteerism within MiALA; and 
  • Other information provided as appropriate

Greater preference will be given to applicants that are brand new to the library field (whether in employment or in their education), have never attended a MiALA Annual Conference, serve in an intern and/or support staff role, and/or are experiencing financial hardship. Other information shared within their application may also be taken into consideration including the effort put forth in completion of the application and other factors.

For more information regarding the timeline and award payment process, refer to pages 32-33 of the MiALA policy and procedures manual.

If you have any questions, please contact the scholarship team leader, Elizabeth Walker, at Elizabeth.Walker2@arbor.edu

Announcing the 2019 Annual Conference Scholarship Winners

The Conference Scholarship subcommittee is pleased to announce this year's conference scholarship recipients:

Annual Conference Scholarship Recipients (each will receive full registration to the Annual Conference, two nights lodging at the conference hotel, and a $50 travel allowance):
  • Katie Alphenaar - Grand Valley State University
  • Elizabeth Bucciarelli - Eastern Michigan University
  • Emily Dunn - Kettering University
  • Katie Iversen - Wayne State University
  • Beth Lieberman - North Central Michigan College
  • Zoe McLaughlin - Michigan State University

A huge thank you to everyone who applied, and a hearty CONGRATULATIONS to each of the recipients!

We look forward to seeing each one of you at this year's MiALA Conference on May 13 & 14 at the Conference Center at Saginaw Valley State University

With sincere best wishes from the Conference Scholarship Subcommittee:
Elizabeth Walker, Spring Arbor University (Chair)
Agnes Widder, Michigan State University