# 2018 MiALA Annual Conference Grants

The Michigan Academic Library Association will award grants to attend the MiALA Annual Conference and/or the pre-conference workshop.

The purpose of the MiALA Annual Conference grants are to support a current MiALA member's attendance at the Annual Conference and/or pre-conference workshop.

The MiALA Annual Conference grant will cover the cost of full conference registration (not including the preconference) and one night's hotel stay (room and tax only) at a hotel at which the conference has a room block reserved. Up to seven scholarships will be awarded. The grantee and/or grantee's institution will be expected to cover any remaining conference or travel costs.

The *Pre-conference workshop grant* will cover the cost of the pre-conference workshop fee only. Up to seven scholarships will be awarded. The grantee and/or grantee's institution will be expected to cover any remaining conference or travel costs.

You may apply for either or both scholarship grants. Applications for each scholarship will be evaluated separately. Being awarded one scholarship does not guarantee that you will be awarded the other.

All grants are non-transferable. If a member is selected and cannot attend, an alternate will be selected from among eligible entries. Grants/prizes/awards obtained from other MiALA programs that cover conference registration fees may not be used in conjunction with the MiALA Annual Conference grants and are non-transferable.

## Eligibility

To apply for a MiALA Annual Conference grant, an individual must meet the following criteria:

- Be a current individual/student member of MiALA in good standing;
- MiALA annual dues must be current and paid; and
- Must be a member of MiALA for a minimum of six months.

# Important Notes

Current MiALA Board of Directors and Conference Planning Committee members are NOT eligible to apply. Recipients may not apply for another MiALA Annual Conference grant for five years.

#### Selection Committee

The grant selection committee shall consists of members of the MiALA Board of Directors and Conference Planning committee. The committee will moderate the selection process and utilize the selection criteria below to identify seven grant recipients for each grant and two alternates. The decisions are final and there is no appeal process.

Application - Deadline to apply is February 15, 2018.

https://www.memberleap.com/members/form.php?orgcode=MALA&fid=2094187

# **Evaluation Rubric**

The selection committee will factor in the following criteria as a guide in making their selections:

- Applicants that are new to library employment/library school;
- First time attendees to the annual conference;
- Have financial hardship due to budgetary restrictions at applicants' institutions:
- Volunteerism within MiALA; and
- Other information provided as appropriate

Greater preference will be given to applicants that are brand new to the library field (whether in employment or in their education), have never attended a MiALA Annual Conference, and/or are experiencing financial hardship. Other information shared within their application may also be taken into consideration including the effort put forth in completion of the application and other factors.

For more information regarding the timeline and award payment process, refer to pages 29-30 of the MiALA policy and procedures manual.

## **Announcing the 2018 Conference Scholarship Winners**

The Conference Scholarship subcommittee is pleased to announce this year's conference scholarship recipients:

Pre-conference Workshop Scholarship Recipients (each will receive registration to the ACRL Pre-conference workshop on Wednesday, May 16):

- Hayley Bommarito St. Clair County Community College
- Kathryn Maciejewski Gogebic Community College
- Elaine Meyer University of Michigan Dearborn
- Sandy McCarthy Washtenaw Community College
- Martha Stuit Delta College

Annual Conference Scholarship Recipients (each will receive full registration to the Annual Conference and one night lodging at the conference hotel):

- Hayley Bommarito St. Clair County Community College
- Alison Greenlee Wayne State University
- Kathryn Maciejewski Gogebic Community College
- Sandy McCarthy Washtenaw Community College
- Hazel McClure Grand Valley State University
- Elizabeth Measell Grand Valley State University
- Elaine Meyer University of Michigan Dearborn

A huge thank you to everyone who applied, and a hearty CONGRATULATIONS to each of the recipients, each of whom were chosen through a double-blind scoring process and selected by highest scores.

We look forward to seeing each one of you at this year's MiALA Conference on May 17 & 18 at the Kellogg Center in East Lansing, MI!

With sincere best wishes from the Conference Scholarship Subcommittee: Elizabeth Walker, Spring Arbor University (Chair)
Jennifer Bowen, University of Detroit Mercy
Alex Hauser, Michigan State University
Agnes Widder, Michigan State University